Muscle Memory

 

 

They say muscle memory is when a movement is repeated over time, a long-term muscle memory is created for that task, eventually allowing it to be performed without conscious effort.

It is also known that the hardest working cardiac muscle is the heart and it has the ability to beat over 3 billion times in a person’s life.

Now before this becomes all science – You my love, are my heart’s muscle memory.

From the very first “hi” on that rainy Thursday afternoon, I chose to use my heart with conscious effort (…with the help of my girls gina and tonicqua. :p)

You showed up and further molded and reshaped my heart. To my surprise, I found myself exercising and conditioning it in a way I never had it functioning before.

It remembers what you wore the first day we met, the first words you said, and how like me, awkwardly nervous you were too.

It remembers how I threw out my neck the day before our first date and it was stuck to the left, to the left, but nothing like beyonce.

It remembers our second date at the movies and how we saw Gone Girl… going in blind unaware of the plot and how I asked you afterwards “You sure you want another date?”

It remembers our third date – that time we went ice skating at Robson Square and you held your hands out to support me as I got an awkward view of your crotch the entire time and how ‘West End Willy’ tried to pick you up circling you like the ice fox that he is. Little did I know… your support would go far and beyond the ice.

It remembers the time we signed our renter’s lease and how our landlord spent a good hour telling us about her complex case of gout. Let’s never get gout please.

It remembers those dirty b*tches that lived there before us who made bleach my best friend. lol

It remembers and laughs at our newer-ish traditions especially ‘Story Time’ : How I chose a super serious somber excerpt and read it in my most Vietnamese accent possible.

It’s difficult for me to write these chapters of our story to you without sharing a ‘muscle memory’ because I use these as the weights I use to lift and strengthen my heart.

Only now, I do so without conscious effort.

Thank you for showing me that when used to it’s full potential and purpose, the heart is indeed the most beautiful and strongest muscle one can have.

And I’ve learned that living is just that, putting it to work until it feels what it was made to feel … one heartfelt muscle memory after the next.

I am feeling enormous gratitude for the past two years ~ Happy 2 Alibae. XO

 

#tna #201 #manchestertan #musclememory

Leave a Reply

